Generally speaking, the being removed users will not see any difference from your profile after you remove them.
They can send you letters as usual, but those letters will not arrive in your inbox. The status of those letters will always be unread. Also, they can read your previous letters and profile as usual. So basically, they will not know whether you have removed them.